Technology Development Group

The Technology Development Group (TDG) meets on a quarterly basis and is compromised of representatives from various sectors.

The flow of information is increasingly at the core of government, business and residential activity. For business, that information flow is a key enabler in an increasingly interconnected and integrated world economy. If the Falkland Islands broadband service is to continue to enable government, business and individuals to remain connected and able to exploit the internet effectively, understanding how broadband services and technology requirements may change over time is critical.

The purpose of the Technology Development Group (TDG) is to provide input to the Falkland Islands Government (FIG) on FIG and Falkland Islands business requirements and priorities for broadband in the short, medium and long term, with a particular focus on economic and social development. This will help inform FIG for the longer-term planning decisions.



TDG Membership:     Sector Presentations: 
Falkland Islands Government Representatives      17 September 2021 Information Technology | FIFCA  
Chief Executive (Chair)    Andy Keeling                           11 March 2022 Chamber of Commerce | FITB  
Director of Development & Commercial Services    Becky Clark   15 July 2022 RBA  
Deputy Director of Development & Commercial Services    Steve Dent   09 December 2022 Construction | Retail  
Director of IT    Matt Mitchell   19 April 2023 FIG  
Acting Communications Regulator    Simon Young        
Sector Representatives 
Communications Regulator    Vacant      
      All meetings are held in the Liberation Room, Secretariat.   
Sector Representatives          
BFSAI    Command Secretary   TDG Secretary  Tessa Davies Berntsen   
Chamber of Commerce (Technology/Retail)    Gareth Goodwin        
Community    Vacant        
Construction    Ian Stewart        
F.I Development Corporation (FIDC)    Zachary Franklin        
F.I Fishing Companies Association (FIFCA)    James Bates        
F.I Tourist Board (FITB)    Karen Lee        
Hydrocarbons    Pippa Christie        
Rural Business Association (RBA)    Lewis Clifton        
South Atlantic Environmental Research Institute (SAERI)    Paul Brickle        
Sure South Atlantic Ltd    Justin McPhee        
Synergy Information Systems Ltd    Nikki Buxton        


If you would like to sign up to the distribution list for public summaries of meetings please contact the Secretary on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | phone: +500 28421.